BTEC Higher National Diploma in Computing and Systems Development

BTEC Higher National Diploma (HND) in Computing and Systems Development is designed to provide a specialist vocational programme, opening the doors to an ever changing world of IT, but also offering skills for practical application in the world of business and widening understanding of current trends and requirements.

It is comprised of 8 Units of Year 1 (Level 4) and 8 Units of Year 2 (Level 5), each level designed for one year of study. Successful completion of the HND could permit progress to a 3rd Year BSc (Honours) through Cardiff Metropolitan University.

  • A CERTIFIED copy of Secondary School Diploma or equivalent Level 3 qualification
  • A CERTIFIED copy of all Academic Transcripts
  • For students whose first language is not English, a minimum IELTS score of 6 (minimum 5.5 in all categories) is required.

Year 1*

  • Business Skills for E-Commerce
  • Computer Systems
  • Networking Technologies
  • Procedural Programming
  • Database Design Concepts
  • Employability and Professional Development
  • Object Orientated Programming
  • System Analysis and Design

Year 2*

  • Data Analysis and Design
  • E-commerce Strategy
  • Networking Infrastructure
  • Project Design, Implementation and Evaluation
  • Web Applications Development
  • Programming in Java
  • Data Structures and Algorithms
  • Quality Systems in IT